Two Students Selected as Winners of the Ag in the Classroom Essay Contest

Bree Stalsberg

Bree Stalsberg, a fourth-grade student from Fennimore, and Michael Christensen, a fifth-grade student from Colfax, have been selected as state winners in the Wisconsin Ag in the Classroom contest. Wisconsin fourth and fifth graders were asked to write a 500-word essay with the theme, “You’re Gonna Need Milk for That – Wisconsin Dairy support our bodies, communities and economy.”

Bree is the winner of the fourth-grade contest. Her teacher is Emily Kamps at Fennimore Elementary School in Grant County. Click here to read her winning essay.

Michael is the winner of the fifth-grade contest. His teacher is Suzanne Blomberg at Colfax Elementary School in Dunn County.   Click here to read his winning essay.

Each year the Wisconsin Farm Bureau’s Ag in the Classroom program hosts an essay contest to engage students in writing, reading and research through the context of food and agriculture. Essays were judged on content, grade-appropriate writing benchmarks, and creativity. This contest is open to all fourth and fifth grade students across the state. 

Michael Christensen

More than 1,800 students wrote essays for the competition, which is sponsored by Culvers, Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin, WE Energies and the Wisconsin Farm Bureau Foundation. 

Essay entries were judged at the county, district and state levels – with stiff competition in each division. Nine district winners were named state finalists and received a prize package including a medal, Wisconsin dairy books, admission to the Farm Wisconsin Discovery Center and Culver’s prize pack. The state winner also received a plaque and prizes valued at more than $250.

This year’s fourth-grade finalists were:

District 1 – Marlena Shera, Saint Frances Cabrini, Washington County

District 2 – Layla Siegel, Monticello Elementary, Green County

District 3 – Bree Stalsberg, Fennimore Elementary, Grant County

District 4- Abby Ruff, Alma Elementary, Buffalo County

District 5 – Joey Visger, Tri-County Elementary, Waushara County

District 6 – Julia Pielhop, Holy Family Catholic School, Calumet County

District 7 – Preston Braun, St. James Lutheran School, Shawano County

District 8 – Haley Penza, Almond Bancroft Elementary, Portage County

District 9 – Penelope Heiniger, Prescott Intermediate School, Pierce County

This year’s fifth-grade finalists were:  

District 1 – Miller Kozlowski, St. Frances Cabrini, Washington County 

District 2 – Evelyn Cooley, Kegonsa Elementary, Dane County 

District 3 – Tara Lenzendorf, Seneca Elementary, Crawford County 

District 4 – Kailey Knight, St. Boniface Catholic School, Buffalo County 

District 5 – Alyssandra Hodorff, Faith Lutheran School, Fond du Lac County 

District 6 – Stella Jauquet, Luxemburg-Casco Intermediate, Kewaunee County 

District 7 – Clayton Roberts, New London Intermediate School, Waupaca County 

District 8 – No finalist named

District 9 – Michael Christensen, Colfax Elementary, Dunn County