Wisconsin Educator Selected as 2023 National Excellence in Teaching About Agriculture Award Recipient  

Jessica Rettler, a teacher at Tri-County Elementary, has been selected as one of eight recipients of the 2023 National Excellence in Teaching About Agriculture Award. 

The National Agriculture in the Classroom Organization (NAITCO), U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Institute of Food and Agriculture and Farm Credit partner each year to honor teachers in pre-kindergarten through 12th grade from around the country for the innovative ways they use agricultural concepts to teach reading, writing, math, science, social studies, STEM, STEAM and more. 

“National Agriculture in the Classroom is honored to recognize and celebrate these talented teachers for their innovative approach to teaching core academic concepts through the lens of food and agriculture,” said NAITCO President and New York Agriculture in the Classroom Director Katie Carpenter. “Their effort to provide authentic learning experiences for their students is critical to creating an agriculturally literate generation who understands and appreciates the source and value of agriculture in their daily lives.”  

Jessica has found a variety of ways to share the multifaceted world of agriculture with students, their families and peers.  Through discussions of current agriculture-related topics, hands-on experiences and field trips to local farms, Rettler brings agriculture to life for her students. Rettler was nominated for this award by Wisconsin Agriculture in the Classroom after she was named the program’s 2022 Outstanding Educator of the Year.  

“We are proud of Jessica’s work and are excited for her to be recognized nationally,” said Wisconsin Agriculture in the Classroom Coordinator Beth Schaefer. “Her lifelong commitment to helping students understand the impact of agriculture shines through her classroom lessons and community experiences. This award could not have highlighted a more dedicated, passionate educator.” 

Additional teachers being honored as this year’s winning teachers are: 


  • Clayton and Megan Kappauf, Oxford, N.Y. 
  • Haley Broussard, Erath, La. 
  • Melody Thieme, St. George, Utah 
  • Monica Massei, Winder, Ga. 
  • Stacey Sanborn, Windham, Maine 


  • Jennifer Hatch, Rocky Mount, Va, 
  • Kendel Hayden, Owensboro, Ky. 

Rettler will be honored at the 2023 National Agriculture in the Classroom Conference taking place June 26-29 in Orlando, Florida.