Essay Contest

Wisconsin Ag in the Classroom offers an annual essay contest for fourth and fifth-grade students. Each year the topic has specific lesson plans, activities and other resources that teachers, volunteers and homeschool parents can use to teach about Wisconsin agriculture.

Information for the 2021-22 Essay Contest will be available in August 2021.

2020-2021 Essay Contest Results

Elli Rettler, a fourth-grade student from Plainfield, is the state winner of the Wisconsin Ag in the Classroom Essay Contest. Wisconsin fourth- and fifth-grade students were asked to write a 100- to 300-word essay with the theme, ‘How have Wisconsin soybean farmers fueled Wisconsin’s economy?’

Elli is the daughter of Jessica and Matt Rettler. Her teacher is Christina Schmick at Tri-County Elementary School in Waushara County.

Each year the Wisconsin Farm Bureau’s Ag in the Classroom program hosts an essay contest focusing on food and agriculture. This contest is open to fourth- and fifth-grade students across the state.

A total of 1,461 students wrote essays for the essay contest, which is sponsored by the Wisconsin Farm Bureau Foundation, Wisconsin Soybean Marketing Association, Wisconsin Soybean Marketing Board, and We Energies.

The nine district winners received a prize package including a plaque, books about soybeans, Culver’s gift card, Agriculture Fast Match game, Trivia cards, and “I Love Soybean” mugs. The state winner also received a plaque and gift. The finalists were:

  • District 1 – Grace Hying, fifth grade, North Cape School in Franksville
  • District 2 – Bentley Johnson, fourth grade, Roosevelt Elementary School in Janesville
  • District 3 – Grace Varo, fifth grade, Seneca Elementary School in Seneca
  • District 4 – Devin Herricks, fourth grade, Cashton Elementary in Cashton
  • District 5 – Elli Rettler, fourth grade, Tri-County Elementary in Plainfield
  • District 6 – Madalyn Novak, fourth grade, Divine Savior Catholic School in Kiel
  • District 7 – Lauryn Peters, fifth grade, St. Thomas Aquinas Academy in Peshtigo
  • District 8 – Shelby Yates, fifth grade, Washington Elementary School in Merrill
  • District 9 – Gracie Benson, fifth grade, Ladysmith Elementary School in Ladysmith